Figure 1: Before and after a collapse test当你使用固液分离或者液液分离过滤器来服务于挑剔的工况以确保质量和重复性的时候。是否能够有效地过滤掉可能损坏设备的杂质颗粒或者是否从燃油里去除水分以延长系统服务时间是非常重要的,不恰当的过滤器器设计和滤材的选择将可能导致灾难性的失效。

过滤器有特定的“DNA”这个概念或许听起来比较奇怪,但正如脱氧核糖核酸(“DNA”)定义了人体的特性,过滤器也存在着可以定义其最终性能表现的“DNA”。过滤器被用作分离各种不同种类的颗粒和液体。对于过滤器来说,其效果和效率可在最终为应用于真实工况而进行生产改进前,在实验室内进行测试。例如,绝大部分过滤器和滤材有一个可测得的“临界点”压力值,这个点就是当捕获的杂质被释放到下游的那点。正确的测试可以找到样品的“临界点”。这些逃离出来的杂质可腐蚀或破坏下游的引擎,可能将碎屑带到食品或饮料里,或卡住机械系统零部件。即便在下游杂质增加到破坏临界点之前,由于压力的改变或其他外部环境的原因,还是会导致系统被损坏。每个过滤器都有自己的属性,检查这些属性你需要考虑多种不同的测试来定义一个过滤器的“DNA”。
 
检测一个过滤器的“DNA”远不止简单的初始效率,名义孔径流量或泡点测试技术。当然这些是个良好的开始,“DNA”测试包括更全面的测试,前面提到的几个项目只是过滤器性能的一小部分细节。要想更多地了解一款过滤器,最基本的是要知道它在什么情况下表现最好,在什么情况下表现最差。“DNA”测试使用国际标准作为测试依据以保证试验结果的可重复性并允许与其他过滤器及其应用进行逐个比较。
 
一个过滤器的“DNA”依据其应用过程由多种不同的测试结果组成。
 
可帮助构成过滤器DNA的测试包括:
 
滤芯爆破或塌陷点测试
原始压差测试
全寿命过滤效率测试
纳污能力测试
孔隙率测试
浸润性和接触角测试
气泡点及完整性测试
粗糙度测试
名义孔隙流测试
水分离效率测试
 
依据这些测试结果,过滤器的特性将逐渐明朗。
 
起作用的因素

滤芯爆破或塌陷点 (ASTM D3786, ISO 4020, ISO 2941, SAE J80)
 
过滤器是通过去除液压动力系统中的液体里的不可溶解杂质来维持液体的清洁度的。滤芯是执行实际过滤过程的多孔装置。
 
过滤器滤芯维持特定液体清洁度水平的能力取决于其性能和结构完整性,以及其抵抗非稳定环境的能力(例如:冷启动和压力突降)。过滤器滤芯抵抗爆破或塌陷性能就是是抵御这种影响的能力。
 
爆破或塌陷点试验使用一个设备连续或间歇性地往测试系统内注入试验液(有时可“分批注入”)。被注入的液体含有不超过被测过滤器滤芯纳污量5%的杂质,间隔时间至少2分钟,与此同时保持指定的试验流量和温度。被用于堵塞作用的杂质浓度应该足够低以便压力测量设备可以侦测到结构性的失效。
 
过滤器的流量和压差是作为对杂质加入(按时或按量)直到被测过滤器滤芯的压差(过滤器总成的压差减去壳体的压差)达到或超过指定的爆破或塌陷压差,或者直到过滤器滤芯失效时必须要测试的工程参数。
 
过滤器滤芯塌陷或爆破压力按以下要求进行验证:
a) 按照ISO 2942进行测试,没有出现滤芯结构性失效,滤材或密封件也没有失效;
b) 在被测过滤器达到指定的爆破/塌陷压力前,随着杂质的加入,压差曲线没有出现突然下降。
 
原始压差
 
这个试验是测量当系统正常工作的时候,过滤器两端的压差。这个试验没有给出太多关于过滤器长时间性能的信息,只是一个标准的测试,这对于设计整个系统是有用处的。原始压差试验是其他试验和应用的一个基础。
 
全寿命过滤效率
 
全寿命过滤效率试验可以告诉你被测过滤器在一个特定的时间段里去除杂质的能力。该试验通常是通过连续向流体里加入一定量的杂质并在下游通过颗粒计数器检测有多少杂质通过被测过滤器来完成的。
 
孔隙率
 
孔隙率测试可以告诉你在滤材上有多少个孔。该测试可以告诉你单片滤材上有多少可通过的面积。这是一个所有过滤器都适用的标准测试。
 
浸润性
 
过滤器的浸润性测试检测的是过滤器与液体之间的相互作用。浸润性是过滤器滤材降低所接触的液体的表面张力的能力。这个信息可以让用户更容易理解过滤器与液体相互作用时产生的压差。
 
Figure 2: Abrupt decrease in the slope of the differential pressure vs. contaminant mass added curve indicated contaminant release and possible structural failure
 
气泡点及完整性测试(ASTM F316, ISO 2942, ISO 4020, JIS K 3832, SAE ARP 901)
 

Figure 3 Typical bubble-point testing apparatus

国际标准定义了可接受的用于液力系统的滤芯气泡点试验。这个测试即可用来验证滤芯的完整性(检查气泡的逃逸)也可通过第一气泡点来检测出最大孔径所在的位置。第一气泡点出现时的压力与最大孔径有关,因此这个测试起到了定义滤芯是否可以进行后续使用或接受测试的作用。
 
这个测试最好在可控的实验室环境下进行以确保试验正确。这个测试如果不是由经过认可的实验室进行,意义不大,因为这个试验标准定义了在试验过程中要做很多的检查及平衡。逃逸出来的气泡通过管子或阀来收集。
 
粗糙度
 
过滤器滤材表面粗糙度的测试是用于检测液体如何经过滤材表面。粗糙度可以告诉你更多关于表面摩擦力如何改变压差以及过滤效率会因为过滤器捕捉粒子的能力而改变。
 
透气度
 
透气度测试检测的是液体通过过滤器的能力。该测试检测液体通过过滤器的程度以及在恒定的环境下在多长的时间能够通过过滤器。
 
水分离效率测试(ISO 16332,SAE J 1488)
 
现代燃油喷射系统,不论是乘用车还是重型商用车亦或是非公路应用,都需要过滤器对于燃油中所有不可溶解的杂质具有高效稳定的分离效率以确保更长的服务时间。除了固体杂质,不可溶解的水,乳化状态或者游离状态,都会降低燃油系统的寿命。合适的燃油过滤器,需拥有高水平的油水分离效率,这对于保证系统的长寿命是非常有必要的,尤其是使用生化柴油的燃油系统。
 
影响不可溶水的分离效率的因素包括:
 
燃油质量,燃油内的各种添加剂的对其质量有着很大的影响;
真实的燃油/水的乳化状况;
系统的流量;
过滤器滤材的种类;
过滤器壳体本身的尺寸和设计;
 
不同的燃油和添加剂可能被用于过滤器的测试。为了保证实验室之间的数据具备可比性,试验方法中涉及到的各种不同的参数都应被考虑到,以减少对试验结果的影响。使用最合适的测量传感器才能测得最佳的水滴颗粒尺寸。在IFTS新起草的ISO标准里,使用了孔板来生成稳定的水滴颗粒尺寸。
 
Figure 4: Diameter of emulsification device
 
结论
 
上面只总结了少数一些测试项目,实际上还有更多的测试项目可以为你提供过滤器和滤材的基本信息。针对过滤器不同的应用领域,也会有不同的测试方法。了解过滤器“DNA”的概念能够帮助你确定针对特定应用选择最好的过滤器。比如这可以帮助一个不知道通过过滤器测试了解最佳使用环境的客户确定可能的目标应用。
 
依据标准进行的过滤器的性能检测检测具备良好的再现性,可用来在全球任何地方进行比对来评估过滤器的真实性能。
 
备注:
 
本文由位于新泽西州斯普林菲尔德的国际过滤测试服务公司(IFTS 美国)的Gerard J. Lynch, P.E. 和 Matthew Borsinger完成;IFTS Asia的吴治钢进行中文翻译。Jerry Lynch是总经理,Matt Borsinger为化学工程师。 IFTS是一家有30年历史的专注于液体过滤与分离技术的,独立的第三方实验室和研究中心。IFTS在欧洲,美国和中国有机构,为很多工业提供各类研究和过滤器检测服务。IFTS拥有世界一流实验室管理团队,包括在固液分离领域著名的科学家,工程师,技术员。IFTS为您提供专业的固液分离检测服务。(阅读本文英文版

When used in solid-liquid and liquid-liquid separation applications filters serve a critical function to ensure process quality and repeatability. Whether it could remove the particulates that can damage equipment or remove water from fuel to extend system service life is very important. Improper filter design and filter media selection can result in catastrophic failure.
 
The concept that filters have a specific "DNA" may seem odd but just as Deoxyribonucleic Acid ("DNA') defines the nature of the human body, there is a "DNA" associated with a filter that defines how it will perform. Filters are used to separate many different particles and liquids. The effectiveness and efficiency of filters can be determined by laboratory testing before expensive plant modifications are made for real world use. For instance, most filters and filter media have an "unloading point" that is a measureable differential pressure at which filters release trapped contaminants downstream. The correct testing can find these "unloading points". These released downstream particulates can erode or ruin an engine, cause scrap in food and beverage processing, or may even seize mechanical system components. Even before the burst point where the particulates downstream increase, due to change in pressure or other external conditions, can still destroy the system. Each filter has its own attributes and to determine them you need to consider multiple tests to define the "DNA" of a filter.
 
The testing to determine the "DNA" of a filter is much more inclusive than simple initial efficiency, mean pore flow or bubble point testing techniques. While these provide a good starting point, “DNA” testing is more holistic than the above-mentioned tests that provide only one small detail about the filter. The idea of knowing more about a filter is essential in determining where the filter would perform the best and where it will perform the worst. “DNA” tests using international standards provide results that are repeatable and allow “apple to apple” comparison with other filters and their applications.
 
The “DNA” of a filter is formed from the results of various tests depending on the process application.
 
The tests that help form the “DNA” of the filter include:
 
Burst or Collapse Point Test
Initial Differential Pressure Test
Efficiency Over Time Test
Dirt Holding Capacity Test
Porosity Test
Wettability and Contact Angle Test
Bubble Point and Fabrication Integrity Test
Roughness Test
Mean Pore Flow Test
Water Separation Efficiency Test
 
With the results of these tests the characteristics of the filter will come to light.
 
CONTRIBUTING FACTORS
 
Burst or Collapse Point (ASTM D3786, ISO 4020, ISO 2941, SAE J80)
 
Filters maintain the cleanliness of fluid in a fluid power system by removing insoluble contaminants. A filter element is the porous device that performs the actual process of filtration.
 
The capability of the filter element to maintain a specified fluid cleanliness level depends on its performance and structural integrity, and its ability to withstand non-steady-state conditions (e.g., cold starts and decompression surges). The filter element’s resistance to collapse or burst is a measure of its ability to withstand such effects.
 
The burst or collapse point test uses a device that injects fluid into the system either continuously or intermittently (sometimes known as “batch loading”). The fluid has a controlled amount of test contaminant that does not exceed 5 % of the element’s estimated contaminant capacity, at intervals of at least 2 minutes, while maintaining the specified test flow rate and test temperature. The contaminant used is injected in a uniform manner and at low enough concentration so that the pressure measurement equipment can detect any structural failure.
 
Flow rate and differential pressure are measured across the filter as a function of contaminant mass added (by mass or time) until the differential pressure across the element (filter assembly differential pressure minus housing differential pressure) meets or exceeds the specified collapse or burst pressure rating or until failure.
 
The filter element collapse or burst pressure rating is verified if:
a) There is no visual evidence of failure in the element’s structure, filter medium and seals, when tested, i.e. as described in ISO 2942
b) There is no abrupt decrease in the slope of the differential pressure versus contaminant mass added curve prior to the specified collapse/burst pressure rating.
 
Initial Differential Pressure
 
This test deals with a simple differential pressure across the filter as the system is running. This test does not give much information about the filter's performance over time but is a standard test, which can give information useful in designing a system. The Initial Differential Pressure test defines a baseline against which to gauge other tests and applications.
 
Efficiency Over Time
 
The efficiency over time test tells you how well the filter removes particulates over a set period of time. This test is usually done with a continuous or batch amount of particulate added to the stream at even intervals and a particle counter downstream to determine how many particulates make it through the filter.
 
Porosity
 
Porosity tells how many holes are in a filter media sheet. This test can tell you how much void area there is on a single sheet of a filter media. This is a standard test for all filters.
 
Wettability
 
The wettability of a filter determines how the filter interacts with the liquid. Wetting is the ability of a filter to reduce the surface tension of the liquid with which it is in contact. This information will make it easier to understand the differential pressures and how the filter interacts with specific liquids.
 
Figure 2: Abrupt decrease in the slope of the differential pressure vs. contaminant mass added curve indicated contaminant release and possible structural failure
 
Bubble Point, Fabrication Integrity Test (ASTM F316, ISO 2942, ISO 4020, JIS K 3832, SAE ARP 901)
 

Figure 3 Typical bubble-point testing apparatus

The International Standard specifies that a bubble-point test method is acceptable to measure for filter elements used in fluid power systems. It can be used either to verify the fabrication integrity of a filter element (by checking the absence of bubbles) or permit the localization of the largest pore of the filter medium by determining the first bubble point. The pressure at which the first bubble point occurs at is related to the largest pore size. It, therefore, defines the acceptability of the filter elements for further use or testing.
 
This test is best performed under controlled conditions in a laboratory to ensure that it is done correctly. The results also have little to no meaning if they are not done by a certified lab because the standards are specific to a process that is done with many checks and balances. Extra air bubbles that come from the pipes or just a valve that.
 
 
Roughness
 
A measurement of the filter media surface roughness is used to determine how the liquid will run over the surface of the filter media. The roughness can tell you more about how the differential pressure will change due to frictional forces and also the efficiency because of the ability of the filter to catch particles.
 
Permeability
 
The permeability test determines the ability of a liquid to move through a filter. The test will determine how well the liquid moves through the filter and in what time period it is able to move through the filter under constant conditions.
 
Water Separation Efficiency Test (ISO 16332, SAE J 1488)
 
Modern fuel injection systems, installed in passenger cars as well as in heavy duty or off-road vehicle applications, require high and stable separation efficiencies for all insoluble contaminants in the fuel to ensure a prolonged service life. Beside solid contamination, undissolved water, in finely or coarsely emulsified form, can also reduce the lifetime of injection systems. Suitable fuel filters, having a high level of water separation efficiency, are an absolute necessity for system longevity, especially with Bio-fuels.
 
Factors found to affect the separation efficiency of undissolved water in the field include:
 
The fuel quality, which is strongly influenced by the performance of additives in the fuel itself;
The actual characteristics of the fuel/water-emulsion;
The specific flow rate of the system;
The type of media in the filter element;
The size and design of the filter housing itself;
 
Different fuels and additives can be used to test the filter. To ensure laboratory test results are comparable, these various parameters have to be taken into account in the test method in order to reduce their influence on the test results. The optimal droplet size has to be determined by testing using proper measuring sensors. In the ISO standard different orifice plates/sizes are used to produce consistent water test droplets.
 
 Figure 4: Diameter of emulsification device
 
CONCLUSIONS
 
Only a few tests have been summarized above and there are many more that can provide essential information about a filter or filter media. There are also tests that are specific to the industry, application and fluid in which the filter will be used. Knowing the “DNA” of a filter helps you determine all areas that will affect filter performance in the intended application. A client with a filter media who doesn’t know the best environment will benefit from filter testing and this can help determine possible target applications.
 
The laboratory tests performed on filters according to standards have excellent reproducibility and can be used to compare and benchmark filter performance anywhere in the world.
 
Gerard J. Lynch, P.E. and Matthew Borsinger are with International Filter Testing Services Inc., (IFTS Inc. USA) in Springfield, New Jersey. Jerry Lynch serves as President and Matt Borsinger as a Chemical Engineering intern. IFTS is an independently regulated laboratory and research center for liquid filtration and separation science. IFTS has locations in Europe, USA and China, providing filtration testing and research services to many industries. The management at IFTS has compiled a world class team of scientists, engineers and technicians in the field of Solid-Liquid Separation. IFTS provides a global resource for professionals working in Solid-Liquid Separation (SLS).